Marsden Professional Learning Session 4

Today I presented on the idea of ‘authentic learning’. This was a topic I wasn’t feeling so confident on, so I relied on the expertise of Jan Herrington – finding her videos were a life-saver! But actually, it was probably good for staff to hear another voice than mine anyway. I also take comfort from the comments that kind people have made on my recent blogpost ‘Reflections on Term 1’ that authenticity is actually difficult to achieve in the constraints of a traditional secondary school classroom.

I feel I need to get better at thinking on my feet to be able to respond to off-the-cuff questions and comments. Having said that though, because I present on so many different topics each session it’s very challenging to have the kind of in-depth knowledge and experience that would allow me to have the background to do so.

I led a blogging workshop, but as this was the second time this ran there weren’t so many attendees, but we had a great discussion!

We’ve asked staff to complete a survey on this term’s professional learning. The results so far are fascinating, for all sorts of reasons… I look forward to writing a blogpost on these soon.

One thought on “Marsden Professional Learning Session 4

Leave a Reply

